GlassWire crashing

It seems that after a while GlassWite is crashing. Let me explain what I mean by “seems”.

I’ve been using it for more than two months already and the problem has happened two times, so it doesn’t happen very often. The first time I thought that it might have been a fluke but now it has happened again, which suggests that there is some problem somewhere.

When this happens, the GUI continues to work - but it shows no network traffic on the Graph tab (or in any other place that reports the traffic. The Internet connection works just fine - I am not disconnected. If I exit the client (i.e., the GUI) and restart it, it seems to kinda hang, saying at the bottom of the Graph tab “Visualizing network…”. The other tabs are not active, in the sense that I cannot switch to them.

The problem is solved by rebooting the computer. This leads me to believe that the problem is in the GlassWire service. I tried stopping it (so that I can re-start it), but I am getting “Access denied” (even as an administrator), so I guess it tries to protect itself from being killed. (Some security products try to do this and it is understandable, although it is of doubtful value, in the sense that it still can be bypassed, if the attacker really wants to and it is just causing annoyance to the legitimate user.)

Is there anything I can do to help resolve the problem? My OS is Win7 Pro 64-bit. Are there any logs I can inspect and report?