New to GW setting up!

Ok … So I’m needing / wanting to track the total data transmitted out / in from my ISP. I’m not caring about local ( internal traffic ) data.

It looks like GW is the tool I might need and if it is and I can get it figured out … More than willing to purchase full product. So to begin.

First … I’m not a total nooob to computers / networking / programming. In other words I have some knowledge and ability others might say I’m a jack of all trades a master at none.

1. This is my router: Linksys WRT 3200ACM

2. My laptop is running Windows 10 home.

3. My network contains a NAS, Roku, Wifi Blu Ray, Multiple tablets, multiple phones etc ( more than I want to have to “PUT” a tracking software on and more OS’s than I know )

I need to track data usage as my ISP gives me a data cap and charges, IMO, exorbitant fees for going over. I’m also on a trial plan with larger data caps atm and will need to determine if I can go to another plan with lower caps and still protect my pocketbook.

So I’ve installed GW on this laptop and have it running.

1. What happens when my computer goes to sleep / hibernate. Currently I let my laptop hibernate ( which I prefer but can change if need to )
  2. So on the USAGE tab it has 2 columns labeled Apps and Hosts
    a. On the APP’s column I’m seeing program names so that’s fairly ok ( atm not
    interested in what app is using the internet.
    b. The Host’s column has just a crap load of stuff. But I can find local IP numbers in the list. I’m assuming that the “HOST’s” data for IP’s that aren’t local are logging data coming into my router / system ( router is the hope here too )

Ok well I’ve just seen a link that states that GW can only “TRACK” data in/out of devices it’s installed on? Can it be confirmed that GW does not track data in/out of router to ISP from all devices on the internal network.

Regards,

@iwrk4dedpr