GlassWire vs. SNMP

First time poster… Be gentle.

I have the latest version of GlassWire running on my Windows Server 2012r2 along with SNMP on the only NIC. My question is should the traffic totals match? I’ve been running GW for about 2 weeks now and SNMP consistently shows 5-7% more traffic than GW. I would expect them to be closer in total however, I am a novice with just a few clues so just looking to understand more. Thanks

@Chewmull

GlassWire uses a Windows API to count all traffic, and that count should be very accurate. However we use another API to pick out different traffic types, and it’s not always 100% accurate.

It does make sense if I was trying to reconcile by traffic type, but I’m looking at the total. If SNMP is running and my monitoring software (PRTG) says 40gig of traffic (all traffic) passed through the NIC yet GW says 35gig (all traffic) what happened to 5gig? Obviously those are round numbers but I’m consistently 5-7% less (all traffic) on GW.

@Chewmull

Thanks for explaining. It could be a couple things.

1. When GlassWire is installed it warns that you may need to reboot to detect all traffic. For example if you’re already involved in download when GlassWire is installed, it may not see that download until after the reboot. We could force the reboot, but we thought it was too intrusive so we just show a warning instead.

2. GlassWire breaks down traffic as local and external. Perhaps it could be that? Click the small control icon under the “Usage” tab to see.

local

Also, I’m sure you know that GlassWire can only see the traffic from when it was installed, not before.

Thanks for the reply;

• Reboots have been done, but I did it again just to satisfy the request.
  • I am aware of the external/local settings and this is not the issue.
  • LOL, Yes i am aware it cant track info before it was installed.

@Chewmull