Hundreds of "Things" on my Network?!

I am new to GlassWire, but I’m okay with computers, for an enthusiast.

I recently purchased GlassWire to keep an eye on things and noticed there are LITERALLY 300+ IP’s connected to my network according to GlassWire. My Netgear Router Map says otherwise.

Can anyone help?!

1 Like

First question: Do the devices have IP addresses internal to your LAN?

For example, my computer’s IPv4 address is 192.168.1.210. That IP address is assigned by the router (e.g. 192.168.1.1).

Here’s a list of private network IP address ranges:

Here’s what the first few IP addresses look like on my network

By the way, I can’t have 300 IP addresses on my LAN because it is configured to have no more than the usual 255. So is their really 300?

1 Like

256 addresses per network is the limit for Class C networks for which there are 2,097,152 networks for a lump sum total of 536,870,912 addresses.

Class B and A, higher and much higher.

@ Kurmi - To begin…
Post up a partial screenshot of your Things screen, with IP (not DNS) selected.
Enter ipconfig /allcompartments /all in cmd and paste in the text returned, without the Physical Address data.

And some other of them there nasty technical details: Windows and GlassWire versions.

Cheers.

I’m really overwhelmed here. Sorry, for the delay in response. I’m currently sitting at 203 “things”.

All the prefixes are the same, including my computer; but they start with 173, not 192.

I’m beyond confused.

I live in a tiny farmtown of less than 500 people. Could I be seeing everyone’s stuff?

Over 300 things again! What is going on?! SHould I be worried?

You are in the same situation as this GlassWire user:

The solution is probably the same. Installing a router will isolate your local device(s) from the other customers of your ISP:

1 Like

I was expecting to see loads of 172.16.x.x NAT addresses.