It looks as though GW blocks Windows Update

I’m new to GW and have been trying to come to grips with its features, some of them are a steep learning curve for tech novice like myself. As I move around I’m getting to understand much - although there’s much more I don’t.
FWIW, I’m trying to find a replacement for ZoneAlarm which I’d been using for over a decade but have found their new generation not very useful. So far, GW looks like the No 1 candidate as long as I can find my way out of inexplicable dead ends like the following:
For example, my access to Windows Update is not working, I get a message saying unable to contact the Server. This has only appeared since installing GW, so it looks like ther’s something GW is doing that I don’t know how to stop.
Any guidance will be much appreciated.

1 Like

Hi geoffwhere
Best to try a few things, to see if it is in fact GW is blocking windows updating.

Try turning off GW firewall and then see if windows update works.

After that you could try uninstall GW, Reboot the computer, then do a fresh install and select options Restore Windows Firewall Default Settings.
Also select Clean Install (Clear Data & Settings)
After installing i always like to Reboot the PC again,
"Old school habbit, amongst other reasons "

This may help, see screenshot below…

GW Install Choose Options

Thanks for your advice & help, much appreciated. I tried your suggestions, no luck. A Google search on the Windows Update error brought me to doing a medley of scf /scannow and dism routines. SFC found some corrupt files and dism fixed them all, but still no success with running update.
So, as of this moment, I can’t run Windows Update. Probably unrelated, I’m also unable to reinstall WhatsApp for Windows from Microsot Store - fails the download and install.
Whether all these are related or not, don’t know, but the plot thickens.

Hi geoffwhere
Maybe try this Windows Update Troubleshooter

Or you can Update by installing updates manually