Method of blocking IPV6 connections on Android

Sorry, first post so I am a bit of a novice at this, two years ago both my phone and laptop were hacked and having started again with both I began using paid subscriptions of Glasswire on both items and a decent paid AV. I block all IPV6 connections to my laptop by only allowing IPV4 connections but obviously do not have that option on my phone. So I was wondering if there is a way within glasswire to block IPV6 connections. Even though I have disabled IPV6 connections (supposedly) on my BT Hub 6 router, when I connect to WIFI at home I get multiple IPV6 connections which does not seem correct. I took snapshots

!

@Topper

Why would you want to block IPV6 connections?

As with many things on Android you can do this with the OS with many phone types without having to use a third party app at all.

I found on my own phone this option was greyed out but maybe it will work on your phone.

How to use IPV4 only on Android phones?

You should go to: Settings - Network & Internet - Mobile Network - Advanced - Access Point Names - Tap on the Access Point you are using - APN Protocol - IPv4 - Don’t forget to press save!

Did it work? What type of phone and OS do you use? Looks like a Motorola?

And of course, always use GlassWire for Android to keep track of what apps are using your data and when. https://www.glasswire.com/glasswire-for-android/

1 Like

Yes Ken that is exactly my point, my phone is set to IPV4 (see my attachment) as shown however when I connect to WIFI I get the IPV6 connections. Having previously been a spam relay I do not wish to be the same, so I do not want IPV6 connection however it seems there is no way to block them.

@Topper

Weird! Do you have two APN networks listed? Maybe you forgot to select this setting for one of them? Could it be old info from before you changed the settings? Are you sure you pressed “save” when you changed it over?