Question about Application Info Detected

Hi there, I’m an app developer and in our Windows app, we update the version info in the executable resources as we make new builds. So for example, our current version is 1.0.0.612. This is what is stored in both “File Version” and “Product Version” in the resource.

Each day we update our build numbers (the 0612 part), and GlassWire notices that it has changed, but it keeps saying the application version changed from “1.0” to “1.0”. I’ve noticed other apps do this just fine using the same type of versioning, so wondering if we’re doing something wrong or if we need to update different values.

Note, this app is handled through Steam and is currently not yet signed (it’s unreleased).

Thanks for your help and love GlassWire. :slight_smile:

1 Like

@the-trooper I have never heard of this before. I guess GlassWire can’t see past the two zeros so that’s why it says that, there probably isn’t enough room in our UI. Try making a fake 1.0.2 update and see what happens.

@the-trooper, this issue arises for other applications too and does not appear to be an issue with the GlassWire User Interface.

It is hard to see where the version numbers are derived

If you look at the version numbers GlassWire uses it is difficult to see where they are being derived:

• The executable image File Version? Not used for all applications - but appears to be for Waterfox
  • The executable image Product Version? Doesn’t appear to be used at all.
  • The registry Display Version for the installed application? Not used for all applications - but appears to be for
    CCleaner
  • Somewhere else or in some other way? GlassWire probably gets the data from somewhere else as 360 Total Security didn’t match any of the above options. However, GlassWire might use more than one method to determine the version, which could explain the “inconsistency”.

Waterfox is an example where the complete version is displayed by GlassWire e.g. 48.0.1.6070