Using GW to identify which process to unblock?

I’m not a networking pro but I thought I understood well enough to do this simple task using GW. Apparently not, though. I’d appreciate advice on what I’m misunderstanding or overlooking.

I use GW to control my data usage. I created my profile by blocking everything and then using “ask to connect” to only allow processes I truly needed. Works great.

Recently an app of mine stopped working after I updated it. I disabled the firewall and it worked again. So apparently the update added a new process that app wants to use. No problem, I just need to turn on “ask to connect” again and then I can allow that process when it pops up, right?

Nope. “ask to connect” has no apparent effect. So I thought, maybe the app is trying to use an existing process I had already blocked, that it didn’t use before. In that case GW wouldn’t ask again. So, I created a new profile. I then spent 5 minutes manually blocking all processes (why isn’t there a button for that?) and turned on “ask to connect”. I’m still not getting asked to connect – for anything. This is the same way I created my daily-use profile originally, but it’s not working at all now.

When you use Ask to Connect, GW only asks you once for each process. If you allow, it unblocks, and if you don’t allow, it leaves it blocked – and doesn’t ask you again. So GW knows what it’s asked me about already and what it hasn’t. For this situation, it’s as if GW is “remembering” that it has already asked me about all these processes once before and is therefore not prompting me again. If I’m correct about that, I think the behavior is inappropriate because I’m working in a new profile. What’s the point of having profiles if they’re influenced by actions inside other profiles?