I agree, you should not have to do this after every upgrade.
Our QA tested and they found that making the change, then updating with our most recent version solved it for them. If you make the change again as listed here Updated to 2.2.258 - all settings gone - #21 by Ken_GlassWire one more time our testers found it solved the issue. They installed the version with the bug, then made the change, then installed our latest version.
When did you last implement this fix? Updated to 2.2.258 - all settings gone - #21 by Ken_GlassWire Did you try it recently or was it only when the bug first happened?
Sorry for the issue and thanks for your patience.