Very high DPC routine execution time for TCPIP.SYS with Glasswire 1.20

For some weeks now I’ve been trying to diagnose a problem with audio on a laptop that I’ve been running for more than 3 years, a Dell Latitude e6230 with very stock standard hardware (8gig ram, 512gig SSD (SATA), core i5 3340m, onboard audio and an external USB DAC Fiio e17). Behaviour affected all audio devices, even bluetooth connected ones in the same way.
Audio playback - be it 3rd party video players (VLC) or embedded video via chrome, etc. (even winamp type programs) were experiencing stuttering and freezing accompanied by insane CPU utilisation especially when Chrome was open (and extremely high when loading detailed pages).
Complete removal of Glasswire 1.2 resolved this - LatencyMon didn’t point to Glasswire directly so I found this with trial and error. Before this TCPIP.SYS was at the highest rate that LatencyMon could report, it was often hitting this over and over again and audio would break up badly enough to break for several seconds and video would become quite out of sync.
I’ve re-installed 1.2 deleting original config and log data - has anyone else seen or reported this type of problem? I’ve just done the re-installation but CPU utilisation is VASTLY lower.